Some people say that drug companies have a responsibility to spend money on researching medicines that will help people in poorer countries. Others say the main responsibility of drug companies is to make money. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different voices around that the pharmaceutical factory should not focus on making a profit, it should aim to help people who are living in developing countries. I will shed some light on both perspectives and provide my opinion. On one hand, the existence of the pharmaceutical company is to produce and create medicine in order to save people who are suffering from diseases. Hence, investing in the invention of new drugs is the primary duty of the substance factory. Also, curing disadvantaged people with their medicine is a way to achieve justice. For instance, providing good high-quality drugs can help prevent unprivileged people from dying due to poverty. On the other hand, the drug company should not become a charity because money is important for the substantial development of the pharmaceutical industry. The operation of a private company needs income and research requires massive financial support. Therefore, creating profit is imperative for the pharmaceutical company because it enables the continuation of medical research. To conclude, in my point of view, the balanced approach is the best because money is a crucial factor for the progression and motivation of an industry. However, allowing disadvantaged people to have good quality drugs is a method to accomplish equity. So the government has an unavoidable responsibility to subsidise the advancement of medicine in order to become affordable for each individual.