In some countries, governments encourage businesses to move outside of the cities to solve the problems of housing and transport in the cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

One of the main strategies implemented by the governments to solve the housing and transportation problems in the city is the policy that advises businesses to move to suburban areas. However, this method has some advantages as well as drawbacks. First of all, many distant areas, where the prices for rent may be lower than in the cities, are not, however, popular among the community to move for a reason that they are not lively due to the fact that they do not have enough services to offer. To reduce such negative developments, it is crucial to encourage businesses to open their offices or stores in such areas to attract the population, and, therefore, solve the housing problem, since people are finding those areas more attractive in addition to the existing low rent prices. When comes to transport, when more people are going to move to a new neighbourhood, local authorities will have a reason to develop and expand the local transportation networks to connect the area with the city centre. Despite all the positive effects the policy may cause, it has some significant drawbacks, that should be taken into consideration. For instance, moving businesses far away from the city centre, may directly affect their income, since the amount of customers will automatically drop, since big and busy areas in the city create more potential to expand the customer base. In addition, some of the loyal customers may not be willing to continue using the services anymore if they move far away from the previous area. The transit costs may dramatically increase since the travelling distance to distant neighbourhoods will increase. This may create isolation of the areas. Moreover, suburban areas can be seen as dangerous places to live, which does cause negative associations thus affecting folk's willingness to move. To conclude, that kind of business policy may have some positive effects such as attracting the nation to move to suburban areas, however, it also has some drawbacks. These include the reduction of customers, which affects the profits as well as creates higher prices for transportation.