More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time. What problems does this cause? What do you think are the possible solutions?

It is true that a growing number of people in developing nations are buying their first cars. In my opinion, there are a number of issues resulting from this phenomenon, and several solutions should be adopted to improve the situation. To begin with, having a car in the developing countries results in several issues as follows. A significant problem stemming from this problem is traffic congestion. It is due to fact that in developing countries, infrastructure has not been upgraded or is undeveloped. This will lead to cars take up all the space for other vehicles, and motorbikes and bicycles encroach on sidewalks and pedestrian lanes. A detrimental effect of the issues is enviromental pollution. As car ownership is increasing in developing countries, environmental pollution will also increase. Statistics show that Motor vehicles emit 30% to 85% of all man-made air pollutants in the large urban areas in developing countries, depending on the level of motorization. Without effective measures to control pollutant emissions, some 300 to 500 million city dwellers in developing countries will become exposed to unhealthy and dangerous levels of air pollution from motor vehicles. Serious attempts to solve the problem must be made. The solution to overcome this problem can be to increase taxes on car owners. Dr. Nguyen Manh Hai, researcher at the Central Institute for Economic Management (CIEM) proposed that the Government and State agencies need to continue to maintain and increase the collection level of the special consumption tax policy for with cars and fossil fuels to limit consumption of these goods. The proposal aims to reduce traffic congestion as well as pollution. Besides, to reduce environmental pollution, the Government should introduce policies as well as encourage people to use public transportation. In conclusion, the increasing number of people buying new cars in developing countries can have harmful effects on the environment worldwide and people's health and happiness. Some good solutions to this problem are charging more taxes and making petrol more expensive.