Childhood obesity is an increasing problem in Australia. As many as two thirds of children are now obese. Shools have a responsibility to monitor what their studetnts eat and amount of exercise they do. To what extend do you agree with the statement?

There is no denying in saying that obesity has significantly increased in the younger generation, especially in Australia, which accounts for 16% of its adolescent population. Some believe that one's food intake and exercise habits can be monitored, and it is the school's responsibility. I completely agree with the notion and put forward the reasons for it. To begin with, the schools always have the upper hand in impacting education about healthy/unhealthy food and its consequences. When blended with the technology, logical reasoning will be developed amongst the children. For instance, a recent survey in the school of Canberra showed a drastic downward fall in obesity, after showing " Food and its nutritional value" videos to the students weekly. Thus, the teachers are the pioneers of it. However, what if an individual consumes fatty food at home? Such a thing can be controlled if the school formulates strict rules of doing exercise regularly for at least 30 minutes before the academics start. If implemented, it will definitely help in reducing the cholesterol levels. Hence, leaving no stone unturned, for any excuse to develop a childhood obesity. In conclusion, since the children spend most of their time at school, the teachers should take up as a challenge to inculcate the right habits in a pupil.