Today food travels from thousand of miles from the farm to consumer. Some people say it would be better for economy and environment if people ate food produced from local farmers. Would advantages of this outweigh the disadvantage?

In this cutting edge era, it is common that farmers produce food in their farms but consumers purchase it in different countries which is too far from the food production. Some people gave their view that if people consume food produced from local farmers then it is beneficial for both economy and environment. In my perception the given statement has such benifits which surpass the demerits. In regards to the pros, locally grown food has many benefits to the environment and economy. Firstly, it can reduce an adverse effect on environment. This is because imported food transported through various ways of transportation like by the means of ships, trains, aeroplane etc. Which produce toxic fumes that cause pollution. If one purchase food which is grown by local farmers have cheaper price than imported one as transport expenses eliminated. Another plus is that, it produce more job opportunities for the local people in production of food and selling it to customers. Moreover, one can enjoy the fresh fruits and vegetable which directly come to local markets from farm. As a result, this can boost the local economic growth and reduce pollution of environment. However, demerits can not be unseen, if food will not imported then one can not enjoy all fruits and vegetables which grown around the globe. In addition, some places where vegetables and fruite fruits are not produce due to their geographical and climate reason. At some place food requirement is much more than locally produced crops because of high population that time import of food become requisite. To sum up, eating locally produced food bring both pros and cons. According to me, import and export if food should be done but only for needy people. However, environment and economy is muvh more import than eating variety of fruits and vegetables. Thus, i believe merits of this idea outweigh the demerits.