Some people say that competitive sports have advantages for people from different groups and countries, while others believe that competitive sports only create problems between people. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is widely believed that competitive sports can bring certain benefits to people from diverse backgrounds. However, there's also the argument for the opposite to be true. Personally, I can neither agree nor disagree with the statement for a variety of reasons that I will explore in this essay. I partly agree with the idea that competitive sports can be an advantage for different groups of people. One of the advantages is how it can help promote the sharing of cultures from around the world, helping us respect each other differences. Through large sporting events, people from around the world will converge to watch the games, creating opportunities for knowledge of culture to be spread. The event can also act as a chance for the host country to present its culture to the world, improving soft power in the process. An example of this is the Tokyo Olympics back in 2020. Research has shown a significant rise in the number of Japanese classes being open to foreigners, which in turn helped promote the country's image. On the other hand, I also believe that there are some disadvantages to competitive sports. One of which is the discourse it creates when matches become too heated. Sometimes, due to the result of a bad sports match, people can lose their ability to calmly evaluate the match and disregard normal manners in favour of their pride and ego. This leads to reckless behaviours that can bring harm to others, especially those directly involved with the game's outcome. For example, in 2015, enraged football fans from Vietnam sent death threats and cyber-bullied a referee for the ASEAN Football Cup finals of that year where Vietnam lost the finals. This then prompted the referee to struggle with anxiety for a long time afterwards. In conclusion, even though it's undeniable that competitive sports have brought many people together and allowed for the sharing and promotion of different cultures, I believe that we also shouldn't look away from the unfortunate consequences born from the human desire to compete.