Some say cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions for tourists. Others say this is the only way to save such traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that historical background and cultural heritage enable countries to attract more tourists to the country. In this regard, some people believe that using cultural traditions for economic benefit can harm the tradition itself. Opponents of this idea, including myself, suggest that monetizing their culture would have economic and social advantages. From my perspective, it is vital for nations to share their cultural heritage to be in dialog with the globalizing world. Many people believe that tourism ruins heritage. Proponents of this view claim that money making process using culture and traditions might lead to the lost the uniqueness of its culture. This process may include marketing strategy, which promotes the tradition as a product, not a value. Since the value turns into product, it becomes ordinary which can be easily experienced without comprehension of its origins. On the other hand, I am in agreement with those who argue that monetizing the cultural traditions is one of the best ways to save them. It is crucial for small nations who recently re-established their independence to come back to lost identity. For example, countries such as my homeland – Kazakhstan is on the way of returning to its origins, which was prohibited under the Soviet power. Within the 30 years of independence our own folklore has been exhibited in the stylish clothes and indi-pop songs. These products have become the driver of our intellectual economy and attract more international followers. Consequently, more young people in Kazakhstan are In conclusion, some people blame current agenda when culture and traditions are considered as a source of profits, while opponents claim that cultural heritage can be saved and developed with the help of marketing and tourist attraction. From my perspective, in the age of globalization the only way of distinguishing own traditions is being attractive and competitive in the market of cultural products.