Many people believe that women make better parents than men and that is why they have a greater role in raising children. Others claim that men are just as good as women in parenting. Discuss both these views and give your opinion?

There has long been much contention about whether women are better than men in taking care of children or men play an equally important role as women in this regard. In order to see whether the former notion outdoes the latter, we need to look at both sides of the debate. The most telling argument in favour of women as better parents lies in the fact that children are naturally attached to their mother as they develop a keen bond with each other, both during pregnancy as well as breastfeeding. Not only does the mother know the needs of the baby more than anyone else, but children also feel more comfortable with their mother’s warmth and affection. Besides, the more intimacy mothers have with their children, the more effortless and spontaneous the task of raising children becomes. Needless to say, all these merits will hold mothers in good stead, as far as instilling in children life lessons and ethical as well as moral values is concerned. Notwithstanding the fact that women ’s role in rearing children is pivotal, it is not to say that men have no redeeming feature. The primary one stems from the fact that a child’s growth entails a wide range of attributes, ranging from enriching children ’s psychological development to shaping their beliefs and ideologies, in which the father is likely to have an equally important part to play as the mother. Apart from this, by imparting such essential virtues as social skills and the like, fathers can equip their young ones to confront the challenges of life as effectively as mothers, if not more. In conclusion, I would not wish to underestimate the contribution of men in the overall development of a child. Nevertheless, I feel that women play a more instrumental role than their male counterparts, in the successful nourishment of children, be it physical or emotional, thanks to a wealth of unique and unparalleled attributes they possess.