In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using mobile phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

In the future, shopkeepers will not accept cash payments from their customers. All payments might be done through other modes of payment, such as cards or using mobile devices. In my opinion, this would happen since it reduces cash theft. However, I believe some people who do not use these other modes of transactions would not appreciate this decision. On the one hand, thefts will be reduced due to no cash. In other words, most thieves steal money from shops in the form of cash, and if there is no cash, then this would not happen. For example, in research, it was found that more than half of the thefts involve criminals stealing cash from drawers. Therefore, I believe that this would save shopkeepers from these kinds of criminal activities. On the other hand, some uneducated people who do not use these transactions might be unhappy with the decision. This is because there are many daily wage earners who get their pay in cash since they do not have bank accounts and might not be able to learn about other modes of payment. For instance, more than fifty per cent of the Indian population does not have a bank account; thus, they would feel devastated by this decision. Hence, I believe that they would not be able to purchase the items they need. In conclusion, I think this decision would help shop owners reduce thefts, but many daily wage earners would be devastated by this decision since they do not know how to use other modes of transactions.