Over consuming sugar is unhealthy. Some people think that governments should take responsibility to control it. Others think that individuals should take responsibility for​ sugar intake. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Increased intake of sugar causes debilitating effects in our health. Many people believe that the governing institution of a nation should have power to control sugar consumption, while some citizens think that it should be the responsibility of an individual to manage the intake of sugar levels. This essay will discuss both points and I personally believe that each person should be disciplined in their food intake. To start with, some people have an opinion that the government has the power to control sugar intake of people. This is because the government has the ability to create laws that can discourage people from consuming foods with high sugar content. For example, they can impose additional tax on sugary products, which is the case in the Philippines, wherein drinks such as juices and sodas are so expensive that the price has tripled over the a Choose an article the a show examples span of two years. On the contrary, many people believe that a person must be responsible for their sugar consumption as they are ultimately in control of their bodies. An individual is capable of deciding which food they take, how much protein, carbohydrate, and sugar levels they can tolerate. For example, they can check the nutritional value in each food products and calculate their sugar levels. They can also decide if they are willing to spend or not spend money for foods high in sugar. Personally, I believe that every person should be responsible in what they eat. Each person is equipped with knowledge and information available to us given by governments in health sector, schools, and medical professionals. Each individual has a freedom to choose on what they want to become: being healthy or unhealthy. For example, I made it to the point that I do not buy sugar for household consumption anymore. To conclude, government are implementing ways to help people control their sugar consumption by creating laws that impacts finances of people. On the other hand, the person is the sole decision maker of their bodies and what they would consume. For me, it is up to a person to decide and take full responsibility in how much sugar content they would tolerate to partake.