Some people think charity organizations should help people in great need wherever they live. However, others think they should help people in their own country. Discuss both opinions and give your own idea.

In the interconnected world, the range of charitable assistance be it within their country as opposed to spreading kindness worldwide is a matter of debate. While there are several compelling arguments on the former point of view, I do believe that they should try their utmost to help the disadvantaged wherever they reside. On the one hand, there is convincing evidence for the rationality of charity organizations offering help to those residing in their own country. First and foremost, doing charity in their own country saves a significant amount of money, which otherwise would be spent on things like long-distance transportation and communication with foreign organizations and governments. Additionally, charity organizations hold more specific and accurate information on the data of their native country. Attributing to these two major factors, there will be a minimum waste of resources if charities are done in the country where the organization is. What’s more, from the organizer’s perspective, they have the obligation and responsibility to assist those who share the same society and even ancestral origin. As a result, their action would likely contribute to the strengthening of national cohesion, and create a supportive and harmonious atmosphere within the nation, which is beneficial for these receivers, donors and society as a whole. Nonetheless, the arguments in support of helping people worldwide are much stronger than those of only donating in their own country. To begin with, in this unbalanced world where different countries are in completely different phases of development, some underdeveloped areas may lack adequate money to carry out charitable activities locally, thus requiring aid from better-developed countries. If all charity entities focus solely on their nation, the gap between their development would keep widening and trigger disputes and conflicts within the human race. Moreover, from a humanitarian perspective, charity organizations should also look upon and help residents across the world with equal dedication and devotion since disasters cannot tell national borders, striking people of all countries and nations. For instance, natural disasters such as earthquakes and pandemics would affect all people on the planet equally without cooperation across all nations. In conclusion, I can understand the reason why some groups prefer restricting their assistance within their national border, but I would argue that it is more reasonable and consistent with the humanitarian spirit to offer help to the people in dire need irrespective of their nationalities and origins.