Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

Nowadays many people say that playing computer games can affect children’s mentality, and the way they react, and I agree with this, by just looking at the numbers of children staying in home and doing nothing rather than “gaming”. Firstly, excessive gaming can lead to addiction, where individuals become obsessed with playing games, neglecting other responsibilities, such as schoolwork, chores, and social relationships. This obsession can end badly if not controlled by affecting their physical and mental health, relationships, and overall well-being. Addiction, in case that parents don’t react in the first phase can be very hard to stop, only with the help of doctors and therapy like Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (CBT), often used to help individuals identify and change the thought patterns and behaviors that lead to gaming addiction. Secondly, another negative effect is that prolonged periods on gaming can lead to physical health problems such as obesity, eyestrain, common is scoliosis, and of course mental health problems like depression, anxiety, and being very nervous. Talking about eye strain, this can be provoqued by staring at screens for extended periods and can cause dry eyes, and potentially more serious vision problems by aggravating a potential form of myopia. These problems cand be prevented by some rules, such as the 20-20-20 rule wich sounds like this: every 20 minutes, take a 20-second break and look at something 20 feet away to reduce eye strain. However, gaming if not abused cand involve some good things for example, better reactions to danger, solving puzzles, making strategic decisions, and thinking critically, which can improve problem-solving skills. Also a fact that I discovered on myself is that gaming can improve better language skills by extensive narratives and dialogues, especially when trying to learn a new language. To conclude, gaming, like many other activities, can have both positive and negative effects, but if enjoyed in moderation and used constructively, gaming can offer numerous benefits, including cognitive development, social interaction. But it’s better as a child, of course, to spend more time outside with other children, than spending you whole childhood trapped in your room, playing in front of a monitor.