In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem?

Childhood obesity remains one of the biggest problems to tackle in the modern world. This essay will discuss the possible reasons for the matter as well as propose solutions and actions that can be taken by individuals as well as government to tackle the issue. Besides the genetic and hormonal factors, a lot of obesity is caused by the passive lifestyle that young people have. Since the amount of calories eaten are not burned through the physical activity, a lot of children become obese. Having a passive lifestyle with little or no activity makes the situation even worse. Another factor supporting the issue is the quality of school food offered. In many countries, it is mostly deep-fried and does not contain a big variety of nutrients. These two factors are the main ones causing the problem. There are multiple actions that can be taken to have more healthy children. First of all, government should help schools to serve high-quality meals on a daily basis to teach kids how to eat more healthily. Moreover, the awareness should be increased by organizing, for instance, seminars for parents with obese children to motivate them to cook nutritious meals at home and limit their offsprings of eating fast-food. The main goal is to change the passive lifestyle into an active one. The government, could, perhaps, develop the infrastructure of the cities by building roads for bicycles and playgrounds or sport fields for people. This would encourage children to spent Change the form of the verb spend show examples more time outside and create the opportunity to ride a bicycle to school. To conclude, there are two main things causing the obesity among children. Those are the passive lifestyle and the diet eaten at schools. To tackle the big problem, several measures should be taken into action. School meals should be made healthier and the infrastructure of the cities should encourage children to move more often.