Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Presently, numerous people are becoming self-employed instead of working for someone else. This essay will discuss some possible reasons for this phenomenon, and also the drawbacks of it. There are two main reasons why people are becoming more interested in self-employment. One of these is because of the lack of opportunities at the traditional market. It is well known that the country is facing a complex economic crisis, and the employment numbers are considerably low. For instance, one of the biggest automobile industries in Brazil is closing its doors, and a great number of employees will be fired. Furthermore, some individuals believe that by leaving their traditional jobs, they will have more opportunities to increase their budget. For example, recently my best friend quit his job in a multinational company, and started his own golf club. However, there are also some downsides in being an entrepreneur. One of the benefits of being employed is because of the range of benefits and regulations to protect the worker. Once you decide to quit your job, you will lose all benefits. For example, you will not have healthcare insurance, or paid vacations anymore. Additionally, starting a new business is very complex. There are a lot of bureaucracy in this country, and taxes that will affect your results. For instance, approximately half of the income will be used to pay taxes and bills. In conclusion, being a self-employed person has become more atractive because of the absence of job opportunities, and also due to personal economic issues. Nevertheless, there are some negative aspects as well, such as the worker benefits that will be lost, and all the complex bureaucracy of being an entrepreneur in this country.