New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays, new technologies, such as mobile phones and tablets, have changed how kids spend their free time. There are some advantages and disadvantages. Overall, I believe that there are more pros than cons. The main benefits of the use of technologies for kids are more access to information at any time and about any subject, an easier way to get connected with friends and family, and more knowledge to deal with future technologies. Nevertheless, there are a lot of drawbacks, like spending more time on screen, receiving unhealthy lights to the eyes, excessive stimulation to the brain, and having an easier way to do school homework without learning actually. In addition, this kind of devices are extremely addictive and can isolate the kids from the society. Obviously, technology by itself is not a bad thing, although what the kids watch and how long they spend on mobiles are important issues for parents. I think the parents must limit the time spent in front of the screens and their content. In the modern world, children have a lot of activities besides school. They have less and less free time to play or just to rest during the weekdays. My kids, for instance, in addition to school, have classes in informatics, soccer, volleyball, acoustic guitar, and theatre. As a result, they have so little time to use electronic gadgets. In their free time after doing all the homework, they spent most of it on their mobile phones, watching short videos or searching for news about sports. In conclusion, I agree that the positive points outweigh the negative points; however, parents and guardians must control the use of new technologies and innovations by their offspring.