In many countries, people wear more western-style clothes (suits and jeans) than their traditional clothes. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this contemporary era, wearing western-style dresses is an ongoing trend in numerous nations. There are several reasons behind this phenomenon, however the main culprit is the cultural shift due to the internet. Accordingly, this issue might have a detrimental impact on the traditional identity of many people. To embark on, globalization constructs a bridge between individuals from different cultural backgrounds, and leads to infusion of these cultures. In other words, due to the internet the world has become a small village where many people can share and spread their traditions globally, and this includes clothes. As a result, and due to the fast-paced lifestyle that requires a comfortable type of uniform, which is a characteristic feature of western dresses, and the increasing availability of this type of clothes online a plethora of workers tend to buy and wear it in a favor of their conventional costumes. For example, Iraqi traditional clothes consist of multiple layers and could restrain individuals' mobility in their work environment. Therefore, many employees around the globe have a tendency to purchase comfortable western clothes that facilitate their movements without being trapped in the traditional ones. Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned point, it can still be claimed that conventional suits are considered to be an important portion of individuals' identities. To illustrate, conservative customs have been inherited from one generation to another, thus it forms an integral component of a country's history, as well as, culture. Therefore, losing it might negatively affect on that nation because a significant part of its history might be amputated. Eventually, a gradual fade of that culture might occur in the long-term future. This can be exemplified by an article conducted by a group of Iraqi civil society activists that assumed only one-third of the Iraqi traditional styles has remained in this age, while the majority has disappeared along with its relative culture across ages. This example shows that the negative side of globalization is that most people have lost a major part of their traditions forever. In conclusion, after this essay has reiterated the above-mentioned points, it can assume that although the comfortable western customs have particularly designated to suit the current style of living, it may indirectly assist in the gradual diminishing of numerous cultural.