Nowadays, many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

Sleep deprivation is a common problem today. Several issues may arise from this, but some solutions exist. The lack of sleep negatively impacts our concentration. To function optimally, the brain requires a certain number of hours of sleep to prepare for the demands of post-sleep tasks. However, with high sleep debt, our tired brains will not function properly, so we make more mistakes at the workplace, at home, or behind the wheel. In addition, a lack of sleep may lead to increased irritability, meaning we show higher sensitivity toward more stimuli. When we do not sleep sufficiently, our body fails to balance our hormones, affecting our mood. As a result, we are more likely to display more aggressive tendencies than average. To overcome this issue, there are some solutions. Drug use is one suggestion, as sleeping pills can cause artificial sleep, stabilizing the body’s hormones for more natural sleep in the future. However, since drugs can be addictive and only good as a temporary solution, we need a long- term plan, which is regular physical activities, making our bodies naturally exhausted to fall asleep organically. This approach is more effective because without doing this, our bodies will remain loaded with unused energy from our lack of movement due to our modern life, so we will not be able to fall asleep organically. In conclusion, a lack of sleep reduces mental alertness and productivity in personal and professional life and can affect our mood negatively. To solve it, drugs might only be a short- term solution because of our propensity to addiction, so we must exhaust ourselves to fall asleep.