In many countries, people now wear Western clothes (suits, jeans) rather than traditional clothing. Why? Is this a positive or negative development.

In contemporary time, Western clothes such as suits, jeans are becoming more and more popular among the people rather than traditional costumes. There are several reasons leading to this evolution, this essay will discuss both positive and negative side of this trend. On the one hand, as the modification of time, the tendency of wearing Western costumes might bring back benefit. First, these clothing can create the equality and eliminate the conflicts between people from different nations. To be specific, due to the diversity of cultures, in some areas, they might despise clothing with too colorful patterns, while in others there might be a tradition to wear clothing with a lot of patterns, therefore, the argument might happen between people from these two different nation. However, since everyone wear the same type of clothes, a common culture will be created among citizens and it will limit the arguments about the differences of each nations. On the other hand, the popularity of Western clothes might partly be responsible for the loss of distinct traditions. Initially, besides the increase of Western clothes, many young people seem to forget or loose their interests in their traditional costumes. In fact, traditional costumes will only exist if people remember it and buy it to wear if usually. If no one remember it or amount of people who care about it is too small, it would gradually disappear from the society and once it is gone, it will be very hard for the people to bring it back in life. Thus the cultural identity of one's nation would slowly be endangered and extinct before they could realize. In conclusion, the development of using Western costumes around the world could be a negative side since it might be considered as culture invasion while it could also be a great evolution because of the equality it create for the people.