Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree.

Numerous people have argued that school should teach a lot of skills in daily life such as cooking, dressmaking, or woodwork, not only focus on academic achievement as well as examinations. In this essay, I will explain why I tend to agree with this statement. On the one hand, learning essential subjects like math, biology, and language is most likely the main purpose of every school in this entire world, yet the hope of parents. Based on the statement by UNDP, courses like math, biology, and language are the foundation of children’s part of growing both in analytical thinking and emotional thinking. Moreover, the ability of children to count is because they learn math at school, their communication skill is level up because they learn a language subject at school, and they are aware of the natural environment because they learn it in biology. On the other hand, school should be the best place for students to learn everything, including learning hard or soft skills like cooking, dressmaking, and woodwork. This idea could be added in extracurricular activities. Looking at SKY High School in South Korea, this school even has 30 clubs for extracurricular activities. The teachers also believe that the students can be rich by having a lot of skills to help them get accepted in high-ranked universities. Turns out, 60% of students in SKY High School get accepted in top 3 universities in Korea and Global because of some competitions in soft skill and hard skill like cheerleading, computing, and boxing. In conclusion, learning cannot be lacking in various subjects only. It is absolutely important to consider theoretical achievement in examinations, but it will be more beneficial if students can master both in academic and non-academic areas.