In many countries today, many highly qualified graduates struggle to find employment. What factors may have caused this situation? What can be done about it?

Nowadays, it has become difficult even for graduates with good academic results to obtain suitable employment in the job market of many states. The essay will first suggest that the main reasons behind this situation are a lack of optimised education and practical training are the main causes and then argue that the upgradation of the current education curriculum and inclusion of job -oriented training are the most viable solutions. The foremost problems are that the education system is not optimised as per the job market requirements and institutions provide inadequate practical exposure to their students. In other words, universities do not look for the requisite experience, which the employers are currently seeking. This results in a mismatch and often companies have to arrange costly induction training for freshers. A recent report suggests that the tech giants like IBM and Microsoft face a huge problem with beginners having a university degree to match their company requirements due to their backdated education curriculum. This proves that the education system has many defects. A possible solution to this problem would be the optimisation of the education curriculum as per the job sector requirements and an increase in practical lessons. If students are trained to solve practical problems, they will be more confident in the job field. Furthermore, employers will benefit from their young employees. In the USA, for example, companies are now preferring candidates with vocational training over fresh graduates. Moreover, they are creating free online courses to support their industry requirements. To conclude, graduates face problems due to the backdated education curriculum and less practical training arranged by their Universities, on the other hand, a possible solution could be updated study programmes with more ground training for the pupil.