In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on sustainable living and reducing environmental impact. What are the challenges of adopting a sustainable lifestyle? What practical actions can individuals take to contribute to sustainability?

Sustainable development has been a debate over last decades. Moreover, there is a current trend in many parts of the world that sustainable living should be encouraged so impacts on environment can be minimized. While I believe there are several difficulties of adopting a sustainable lifestyle, measures can be taken to address these issues. To begin with, adopting sustainable lifestyle might face challenges due to multitude of reasons. Firstly, alternative replacements might be unavailable or cost a great deal to switch from traditional methods to sustainable ones. For instance, burning fossil fuels are causing pollutions, which poses a threat to ecosystem. However, people still find them more affordable rather than harnessing solar or wind power. Secondly, it is relatively troublesome to break the old habit of waste disposal in an irresponsible way. This problem takes place possibly due to the lack of education for children in undeveloped countries. Several measures can be taken to encourage people to live responsibly and sustainably. In short term, a high tax should be imposed on gas to discourage people from using their private vehicles and therefore switch to alternative energy. In long term, infrastructure of mode of electric public transport should be put into practical. In addition, environmental bodies and government must cooperate in launching propaganda to raise awareness of how to classify waste and how plastic products damage the habitat of all beings. As a consequence, all of aforementioned measures can contribute to sustainability by reducing a tremendous amount of waste in general released into environment. In conclusion, people might face hardships to develop a sustainable habit. However, a number of methods can be introduced to promote sustainable development and soften impacts on living habitat.