An increasing number of larger shopping areas, malls and department stores are leading to the decline of smaller corner shops. what are the advantages and disadvantages of shopping in larger shopping centers rather than smaller, more traditional shops?

he rise of city retail centres, such as shopping malls and department stores, coincided with a decline in smaller corner shops. Nowadays, with lifestyle change, most individuals prefer shopping from a shopping center. However, not everyone can afford to shop in malls. This trend has sparked a debate between malls and small-scale shops. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both shopping environments. The development of larger shopping arcades has benefited consumers in many ways. For instance, every need and want will be available under one roof. Customers can shop at their own convenience rather than roaming between street vendors. Individuals can buy their necessary branded products from shopping malls without being scammed by fault or fraudulent products from small vendors. As a result of wider malls and stores, the public can do their transactions more conveniently, such as using debit cards/credit cards or even paying as an easy monthly instalment, whereas most of the smaller roadside vendors accept only cash. Convenience of the shopping malls has drastically decreased street vendors or small shops. Even though there are advantages, there are disadvantages as well. For example, some rare fruits and vegetables will not be available in larger supermarkets. Lack of human connection and bargaining power will be another issue because most larger stores do not allow bargaining. The decline of smaller shops can adversely affect local economies. Family-owned businesses often contribute more directly to the local community, both economically and socially, than large retail chains. In conclusion, although more giant shopping market are developing in the cities, not everyone can afford luxury shopping or products. Small businesses and merchant should be encouraged rather than shutting down their businesses due to these shopping complexes. They should remain because not everything can be purchased in a mall.