On one hand, nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. On the other hand, nuclear weapons are a potent threat to world peace. Do the benefits of nuclear technology outweigh the risks? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The use of nuclear power still remains debatable. Some people argue that nuclear power has a significant impact on the development of clean energy. On the other hand, others think that nuclear power can potentially interfere the world peace and human civilization. As an International Relations student, I strongly believe in the latter which emphasizes more on the detrimental effects of nuclear power in the global context. It is commonly known that most of the big power countries, such as the United States of America, the Democratic Republic of Korea, the Republic of China, and many more have been using nuclear power as a weapon. Unfortunately, the international consensus about the utilization of nuclear still remains unclear. Considering the deleterious effects of nuclear for the environment and human well-being, those countries still use nuclear power and portray it as a defense mechanism to justify their political moves. Consequently, it brings long-term damage to the people in those targeted areas. For example, there are several spots in Hiroshima and Nagasaki which still contaminated by the atomic bomb from the US and Japan war in 1942. Another perspective regarding clean energy from nuclear fusion still has room for discussion. To achieve clean energy as a global sustainable development goal, there are several alternatives to replace the use of nuclear. For instance, we can focus on geothermal energy, wind energy, and many more. The use of nuclear power for energy transformation also has various disadvantages, such as the cost of nuclear development which is relatively higher than other alternatives. In conclusion, I believe that nuclear power brings more drawbacks for human beings. In a broader context, nuclear power has turned into a threat to global peace. Moreover, we still have many alternatives left rather than rely on nuclear with its destructive effects. Therefore, we can consider banning nuclear power.