The percentage of overweight children children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last decade. discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Obesity is currently one of the most common problems affecting both young and old. In Western countries, weight gain among youths has spiked up to 20% in the past 10 years. This essay will stipulate the cause and effect of this pattern. To begin with, the increase in fast-food chains has caused people to dine outside rather than prepare home-cooked meals. For example, McDonald's has thousands of food stalls in Canada and they produce plenty of advertisements which encourage people to buy as it is fast and easy to prepare. Unfortunately, most meals are added with preservatives and chemicals that are genetically engineered to be more palatable causing people to buy irresistibly. Furthermore, these foods contain high levels of sodium and sugar content which are factors for weight increase, decrease in nutrient absorption, water retention, and slow metabolism. In addition, due to the latest technology, children tend to play and study in front of computers these days which causes youngsters to have a sedentary lifestyle. For instance, the COVID-19 pandemic has led to a spike in online learning wherein kids are encouraged to have class sessions via computer. Moreover, this has decreased their activeness in physical activities which affects their metabolism rate. They are not burning enough fats to convert into energy causing them to gain burden over a period of time. In conclusion, there are many reasons why young population are becoming more obese. It can be due to eating fast food products or having a sedentary lifestyle which both are factors to slow down metabolism and encourage density gain.