With the rise of e-books, come the decline in paper books . Some people see this ad a good forward step while others do not. What are advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, e- books become more and more popular while paper books are losing their popularity. Some people think it is a good forward step but others argue it cannot be. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this trend. For advantages, e- books encourage people to form a good habit that let reading become one part of lives through their flexible and convinient features. In other word, people can read e- books everywhere and everytime without any restriction. For example, reading e- books on the way to work or study becomes more and more popular among people since they do not need to carry heavy paper books, which shows that e- books are very portable. For another instance, people can change another e-book to read, they can just search the books through their phones or kindles instead of searching in the bookstore, which is less time-comsuming. All of these features make it easier for people to read, encouraging nice climate for reading. For disadvantages, reading e- books may lead to the less outcomes of reading paper books because of distractions. As we all know, when people are using their phone to read e- books, it is very possible for them to be distracted by other information like messages, social media and so on. Psychologists suggested that people will perform better when they focus on the target. According to psychological theories, people will learn less in e-book learning process than paper learning process since they are tend to pay attention to other resources. Therefore, people read e- books less effective due to distractions. To conclude, just like a coin, this trend has two sides. The increasing popularity of e- books may create good culture of reading but may make people lose the ability to focus on reading itself.