As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rapid and accurate translation capabilities of computers could make the process of learning foreign languages unnecessary. I believe that learning languages is still an important skill. Some of my reasons will be explored in the remainder of this essay and a logical conclusion will be drawn at the end. The current status of computer language models does not have the capability to replace human translation. Firstly, nowadays with the popularity of artificial intelligence, some people believe that this can solve the challenge of reading, speaking or listening in foreign languages. However, in some situations the use of this technology is not enough to achieve good communication. For instance, last week in a meeting with my colleague from the U.S. understanding the context and the technical use of some words was key to reach an agreement. Thus, in certain circumstances automatic translation is not the better option. Another key point about learning a second language is the benefits for the brain process. To begin with, the medical community has found that acquiring new tongues can reduce the risk of mental illness and it may help in the building of new brain links. In addition, individuals involved in this journal can expand the range of their the cultural background. For example, in my case learning English has opened doors to new literature, movies, music and even know new people. Clearly, the use of computer translation can not bring the same benefits for individuals that learning a new tongue. In conclusion, I admit that the use of artificial intelligence can change the learning process in many aspects. But in my opinion, learning foreign languages is critical for professional and personal development.