Discipline is an ever increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of the teachers, while others think this is the role of parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In contemporary educational institutes, disciplinary issues have become a matter of growing concern. Although many argue that it is the duty of teachers to instruct the students about behavioural norms, I concur with the opinion that proper discipline should be taught by parents. On the one hand, the responsibility of a teacher is not only limited to sharing of academic knowledge but also to look after other aspects of pupils, such as maintaining proper decorum. That is to say, teachers should assess students ' behavior, guide them, and if needed take correctional measures so that they follow the convention of the school and society at large. To illustrate, if two students get into a fight due to some disagreements, it will be the teacher's job to address the issue, and warn them of the consequences so that their action is not repeated. Nevertheless, it is also evident that no matter how much teachers try, some students never seem to learn. This is because, compared to teachers parents spend more time with individual students, so if those pupils are expected to understand the differences between appropiate and inappropiate activities, it should come from the parents. At home, parents observe their children closely, thus allowing them to identify actions that may not be suitable at school or outside environments. In turn, they will be able to teach their offspring the means to behave accordingly. For instance, a recent survey found that students who spend more time with their parents are likely to commit fewer nuisances. Therefore, I believe, primarily, the discipline of students is the responsibility of their parents. To conclude, even though both the teacher and parents can be separately held responsible for the conduct of students, I think parents have a bigger role to play to address it.