1. Freshwater is a limited resource in certain regions of the world. Today, the escalating demand has transformed it into a global problem. What are the causes of increasing demand? What measures can governments and individuals take to respond to the problem?

The increasing demand for freshwater has become a recent trend throughout the world, whereas in certain areas this natural resource is in short supply. There are various reasons for this, but measures could be taken to tackle the problem. There are two main causes of water scarcity. Firstly, the global population growth makes natural usage increase, plus more and more young people might lack of awareness saving it in daily life. For example, the young in the new generation are used to leaving the tap on when brushing their teeth or spending longer time taking showers. Another problem is geographical locations are not conducive to accessing the sources, such as living in an urban city or in desert areas. Therefore, a large number of citizens might face a provision that could not meet the demand. However, suitable measures which can conquer this difficulty are developing good habits from individuals and providing supply systems from governments. This is an acceptable solution so that the population have a better understanding of their personal rain footprint after assessing their own behaviours. As a result, they would cut back on their freshwater usage and stop wasting it at home. Only flush the toilet when necessary, which is a salient example of a positive habit. Besides, using well-equipped water supply systems can provide to the regions where these natural sources are not available in a timely manner. Furthermore, areas that suffer from droughts may need to import drink. Hence, these methods could avoid resulting in a drinking crisis. In conclusion, despite the fact that the limited freshwater sources may be caused by the world population rise, bad habits and geographical factors,it can be solved by taking measures for both the individuals and society as a whole, including making good use of supply systems and changing the bad habits of wasting water.