Is there any value in studying academic subjects that are not 'useful' in terms of generating wealth for the country? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, people are alert to the usual educational system and some of them have an idea of the advantages that can be had by introducing subjects which may able to generate income for the country in future. But I personally believe that it is useful to study relevant academic subjects for our well-being, even if they do not help to increase income. Rather than doubling the income of a state, it is important to create a well mature and healthy generation in society. Therefore I will illustrate the reasons for my view through this essay. Firstly, the School curriculum is the easiest way of introducing new things to children. Each and every person has to step forward day by day with the global competition. To get a successful rate from the competition, individuals should have the ability to make decisions in a mature manner. A powerful personality will be able to boost this capability of making decisions and it is important to win both personal and career life one day. Hence it is, even it doesn't help directly to increase the income of a country, building up these types of qualities in children may help to build up a more strenghthful generation in future. As an example, the universities of Sri Lanka introduced a personality development programme for university students and according to lecturers, students were able to have well-organized personalities with them. Secondly, health-related subjects also make profitable outcomes. Athletics, dancing, swimming, yoga, and psychology are some of them which can directly help to build up healthy people in society. On the one hand following these types of subjects, children will be able to achieve a healthy life and on the other hand, the government can reduce the allocated money limit for health issues due to it. For instance, most of the children in Korea follow dancing which helps to increase body flexibility and mind relaxation. According to research, due to that practice, they have less chance of having mental illnesses such as dementia in their older age period. Even, though these curriculums do not help to grow the income of a country, they help to save money somehow. To sum up, even though some people think that it is a waste to teach topics which can't increase income one day, I believe that our thinking patterns and health states also should be developed.