Some people think that studying from the past teaches us nothing about today’s life. Others argue that history is a valuable source of information. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are many controversies around the role of learning history. While some people opine that history has no value for present life, I believe studying from the past is still important for students. On the one hand, it can not be denied that it is quite hard for people to recognize the connections of history ’s values and the present -life. This is because unlike science subjects, like physics or technology, there are very few lessons from history that can be applied to real-life activities, which leads to people not being interested in studying history and feeling it is a waste ofwasting time. Another reason why people think learning from the past is not useful is that there is no guarantee of the accuracy of the information. Depending on different perspectives, there will be some inconsistencies between peoples and regions in the world, and thus, we suspect about the authenticity of what we have learned. However, history still plays a very important role, especially in educating the young generation. Students study history to know about their ethnic origin, cultures and heroes who have contributed to build and protect the country, as a result, they develop their patriotism and pride. In addition, understanding past events helps people have a correct view of the world around them and avoid false information. For example, recently, the Canadian Parliament made a serious mistake when praising a former Nazi from World War 2 as a hero, leading to a wave of indignation from people around the world. Moreover, if people do not have historical knowledge, they will be easily led by this incorrect information. In conclusion, although knowing about the past has few practical values in people ’s career and life, teaching history for students is still very essential because it helps to form the right awareness about their nation and the world.