Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or diagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

There is an argument about the idea of getting rid of congestion and pollution by making the price of petrol expensive. Nevertheless, I extremely disagree with this statement because it will harm most people; however, there might be another way to address this issue. To begin with, there are a lot of individuals who have vehicles like cars or motorcycles to provide them transportation. Perhaps not everyone comes from a wealthy family and it will be hard for them to buy fuel if the price increases. For instance, university students from Hasanuddin University, Makassar, Indonesia, do some research by interviewing citizens who live in Makassar it is said that 7 out of 10 rely on subvention, but they still find it hard to cover. This is why I feel the argument should not be executed. The solution that I believe would be most effective is the government should take place to promote public transportation more and make a rule about limiting traffic jams. Despite that public transportation will also release pollution, they can transport in large amounts so that the carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide will reduced. Additionally, by limiting traffic jams, the government can control well the roads to prevent congestion. For example, there is a podcast on Spotify by a professor of environment engineering discusses the situation in the heart of the city which he say a lot of citizens are not aware that public transportation could save the environment from pollution and solve growing traffic. In conclusion, although some people think raising the price of gasoline will suitable method to solve the problems of environment and traffic, they are not really helping and there is another idea to cope with those.