With the increasing demand for energy sources of oil and gas, people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched places. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas?

In this day and age, energy is a hotly debated topic that often divides opinion. Some people argue that we should seek sources of fossil fuel in remote and untouched areas to solve energy problems, while others agree that this phenomenon can result in several drawbacks for both humans and nature. From my perspective, I am convinced by the latter argument, and this essay will shed light on the rationale. On the one hand, seeking new sources of oil and gas can provide a solution to the global energy shortage. Fossil fuels, such as oil and gas, enable the heating of homes, operation of vehicles, and electricity generation, all of which play an important role in the development of humankind. Coal mines and natural gas deposits are not infinite, and with the evolution of the human industry, some current natural resources, such as oilfields in Qatar, are under threat of running out in recent years. Therefore, it is necessary for people to seek new sources of fossil fuel in remote areas to address this global issue. In addition, exploiting fossil fuels in new places contributes to economic growth in some countries. Such activities are projected to create more job opportunities for residents in the mining industry, such as miners, managers, and engineers. Consequently, it will help millions of people escape poverty, expand the middle class, and make some countries' economies more powerful. On the other hand, despite these merits of finding new sources of oil and gas, the disadvantages in this situation seem to be more crucial for the sustainable development of humankind. Clearly, destroying natural habitats as well as seeking new fossil fuel sources could be regarded as the two major disadvantages. From a biological perspective, using untouched places to produce oil and gas can have a detrimental effect on ecological balance. This is because some rare species are likely to live in remote and untouched areas. If we destroy these places to produce oil and gas, it can result in extinction. Moreover, the process of exploitation produces carbon emissions and contributes to the global warming phenomenon. The extraction process will significantly reduce global greenery, leading to fewer trees available to process the increasing amount of carbon emissions. In conclusion, the disadvantages of looking for sources of oil and gas in places that have not been reclaimed, leading to global warming and ecological imbalance, seem to outweigh the economic growth benefits. I believe that people should explore alternative solutions, such as renewable energy, to address energy issues.