New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time.Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Today's rapidly evolving world accompanies the increasing advent of technology, which have led to a shift in children's spare-time activities. However, this development carries both merits and demerits. In this essay, I will look at both sides and try to draw some conclusions. To begin, let's delve into the advantages of technological advancement in children's free time. One of the main positives of technology is the access to more diverse and more helpful types of entertainment. For instance, technology has invented a new way of playing and learning, educational apps, in which knowledge is skillfully incorporated into fun, interactive games. Such apps include from essential, core subjects like mathematics and sciences to social subjects such as foreign languages, arts, music, etc, allowing kids to broaden their horizons much more effectively. Another benefit is the opporunity to practice soft skills. For example, role-play or strategical online games often require problem-solving skill, critical thinking, and a harmonious teamwork. By frequently playing these games, children can continuously practice soft skills that are extremely practical for their future. On the flip side, one disadvantage of technology for children's spare the uncontrollable rising of harmful online games, contents and videos. To be specific, many violent factors are currently underlying games for kids. These contents can lead to children's violence, actions out of control, disorientation, or even depression. Secondly, it is undeniable that the more time children spend in playing computer games, the less time they could spend in joining outdoor activities. This negative trend can be resulted from the addictive factors of video games and social media, and is one of the main contributors to kids' health degradation and obesity these days. In conclusion, the invention of advanced technologies have both pros and cons. While, what technologies can offer to children nowadays is, of course, essential, the detrimental effects on children's mental and physical health are formidable drawbacks. Personally, I believe that the evolution of technology is inevitable and will provide children with huge advantages, however, how children can use and access to these new technologies should be put under the control of adults.