Question F Some feel governments should invest in preserving minority languages, while others feel this is not a good use of resources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. (Write 250 words.)

It is undisputed that although there are many languages in this world, there are a few major languages people mostly use, such as English, Chinese, French, etc. Therefore, some minority languages are ignored because investing time on practicing those popular languages is more useful in many aspects. However, some people believe that governments should take more effort to preserve local languages. Both views will be discussed in the following paragraph. First, it is worth to spend time learning major languages, which we can use widely, since there are more opportunities for those languages to become useful in our lives including studying, working, and traveling. In addition, speaking popular languages provides us to communicate with most of people in the world. For example, I found many advantages of learning English, one of the most popular languages that thousand million people speaking. First, I can access more resources in English, and I believe this is a key to expand my horizon and gain more knowledge. Second, I think it is more convenient for me while traveling, because English is the international language that we can speak everywhere. On the other hand, some argue that it is important to preserve the local languages since those represent the unique cultures of humanity. Language is not only about words we speak, but also a tool we use to understand people and history in each society. It is easier to understand people in different cultures through languages. Hence, I agree that disappearing of minority languages has a great impact on reducing culture diversity. In conclude, I believe although it is useful to learn major language, it is also crucial to preserve our cultures by learning minority languages. Moreover, local languages are also need more attention from a government to preserve our unique cultures.