Many countries are experiencing population growth and need more homes. Should these new houses be constructed in existing cities or should new towns be built in the countryside?

There is a growing concern regarding the rapid growth of the population in most developing nations, thus requiring more accommodation. Some individuals believe in building more shelters in existing urban areas, whereas others view developing new satellite cities are more suitable. I personally approve of the former solution because it provides a long-term sustainable planning approach in terms of spatial management and transportation issues. In the process of tackling this phenomenon, the government should anticipate more comprehensive and structured city planning guides. The densely populated city should accommodate more residents by planning to raise the density and compactness to contain the newcomers. To achieve this, the authorities should permit more medium to high-rise residential zones and even help to construct them. If landed houses are less common than apartments, then the available urban space could be converted into green spaces and forests. This way the population could have easier accessibility to basic facilities while maintaining a healthier urban environment. For example, Singapore has a concept of compact management which provides their residential areas with standard requirements of facilities such as education, medical, transportation hubs, parks, shopping centers, and such. Furthermore, sprawling urban growth is not sustainable for developing seamless and integrated public transportation. Peripheral towns often create traffic issues by commuting to the center of activities, leading to air pollution and exacerbating fuel consumption. Thus, having systematic metros and buses concentrated in the main city could achieve mode shifting and convenience for mobilization. For instance, Jakarta has six satellite cities that do not have proper public transportation which reduces the congestion of commuting and intercity mobilities. In conclusion, increasing the number of settlements in developed urban areas would be much more essential and important than relocating them to the countryside in terms of combating the rising population issue because it would achieve healthier citizens and the quality of the planning structures.