The use of mobile phone is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phone should be banned like smoking. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that the act of using smartphones should be treated in the same way as smoking for these behaviours are antisocial. This essay firmly disagrees with the viewpoint due to the device’s necessity in daily life and usefulness for people with disabilities. In recent years, phones have become a device with significant importance in our lives. It plays as a medium connecting us with all essential parts of life such as our family, friends and the updates about the outside world. Moreover, for many employees, mobile phones are used not only for communication but also for work. For example, many sales or customer service agents need to update with their customers' inquiries in order to support in the shortest time possible and maintain customer satisfaction. Another reason for my disagreement is that smartphones can tremendously support the disabled people in public environments. Given the development in technology, this technical gadget is now able to master various tasks that are vital to people with disabilities so they can single-handedly process information from the surrounding environment and not be overwhelmed, especially in modern cities. For example, people with impaired vision can now use the phone to transfer text to speech and navigate the directions without any assistance, avoiding objects or people in order to reach the desired destination. In conclusion, due to its importance in everyday lives and usefulness for the disabled, this essay strongly disagrees with the opinion that using mobile phones is an antisocial action that should be banned in the same manner as smoking.