Some argue that Halloween and similar festivities at the end of October are becoming too commercialized, focusing more on costumes and decorations than the original cultural and historical significance. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Support your opinion with examples and reasons.

Many people argue that Halloween and related festivities towards the end of October are becoming too commercialized, focusing more on decoration and apparat than the original cultural and historical significance of it. I fully agree with this statement. I didn’t even know what the real significance of Halloween was before I made research for this essay. Halloween dates back to 835 in Ireland and northern England, at the time it meant the end of summer and of the harvest season and it was wildly associated with human death. People would carve pumpkins with scary faces and wear costumes as well as lighting up bone fire to ward off the ghost of the dead that would apparently come out on halloween night, it had a real meaning for the pagan people as it was a religious celebration. Trick or treating originally started with parents giving sweets to their children as a way of comforting them as they were scared. On the other hand, today, Halloween is nothing more than a commercial festivity where people buy futile decorations and costumes. As much as I think Halloween decorated streets are nice, it is ridiculous that in 2021 Americans spent over 500 million US dollars on costumes for their pets. October is the month where the candy lobbyists are making the most money. Each year on Halloween, Americans spend 3.6 billion dollars on various candy bars and sweets. American kids now go door to door asking for mountains of candy as for a tradition that isn’t even theirs. We are far from the orange the Irish kid would be lucky to receive. Halloween sales each year in the USA exceed 12.5 billion dollars but if you ask any American, I doubt any of them even know the real significance of the fest. To conclude, halloween is an ancestral tradition that dates back to over 1 millennium ago, it had a real meaning and impact on people, now Halloween is just a commercial even where big companies make half of their yearly sales of candy in a single day. It has lost all of its meaning and significance.