The planet's population is reaching unsustainable levels, and people are facing shortage of resources like water, food and fuel. To what consequences may overpopulation lead? In your opinion, what measures can be taken to fight overpopulation?

These days, scarcity of various resources has become a major concern for humans as a result of population explosion at a rapid rate. In this essay, I shall discuss the underlying effects that overpopulation may cause and suggest appropriate measures to combat the rapid growth of the population. A rapid increase in population may result in the depletion of natural resources and epidemics. This is because, with more population, we have more people to feed, causing over-exploration of natural resources. Moreover, malnutrition and the high density of the population may contribute to the spreading of many incurable diseases, resulting in deaths. A recent study conducted by Havard University concludes that each year, around 60% more people die in various epidemics like diarrhoea and mosquito-transmitted diseases in the 40 most populated countries of the world. If overpopulation can be controlled, it will ensure better health care for the people. The creation of general awareness and effective contraceptive measures can contribute to combating this issue. Firstly,citizens should be made aware of the cons of having more child, which causes a birth boom worldwide. Secondly, women should be educated more on effective birth control measures to reduce undesired pregnancy. In Bangladesh, for instance, the birth rate was reduced from a percentage of 1.42 to 1.06 with the introduction of effective family planning, as published in the national dailies. In other words, sensitization and awareness creation can curb the birth rate, ultimately solving the overpopulation problem in many countries. To conclude, overpopulation can drag human civilization into severe consequences. However, adequate preventive measures can solve the problem and make the earth safer.