Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

Currently, students who are willing to learn science fields are becoming rarer in various countries. The reason of this may be caused by the high level of difficulties to attain science degree and the low welfare of science graduates in the recent years. Consequently, this issue may pose a lingering threat for future generation if this trends keeps happening. Compared to other majors, natural sciences are known to have a complex theory that required a difficult learning process. This pose as an obstacle that drove pupils to choose another subject to learn. Yet despite the prestige that is embedded in attaining science degree, many students felt that it is not worth to pursue considering in the recent years, inadequate pay has become a convoluting issue that is yet to be solved by policymakers. If solution is not found in the near future, perhaps we have to prepare ourselves for the worst scenario. The lack of science graduates mean less experts on specified topics, such as zoology for example. For instance, the protection of endangered animals would be such of a less priority by the country since there is simply no one who is knowledgable in the issue. Massive decisions taken by the government mainly would be profit oriented, without the consideration of talented academia in the respective field. This would lead to catastrophe and irreparable damage if not taken into account In conclusion, the allure of science subject has been reduced as a result of higher expectation from society with disproportionate feedback to those who sacrificed themselves in this issue. If their works keeps getting dismissive approach, it can be assured that it will harm society anytime soon.