In some countries, many children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people say it is the responsibility of governments to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s globalizing world, overweight and obesity have become increasingly popular among teenagers in recent years. A number of people hold different views about whether it is necessary for the government to settle this problem. From my personal perspective, I am convinced by this viewpoint, and this essay will shed light on the rationale. On the one hand, nowadays, children are more likely to become overweight and unhealthy. It has several adverse effects on the society and average citizen’s health, so it is crucial for the government to take responsibility for ensuring the well-being of citizens. That is to say, if a country is facing some serious problems such as obesity and overweight, the government must be the one to first address these threats, introduce and put some solutions in practice. For instance, the government should impose higher taxes on fast food to reduce overweight issues in children. Therefore the proportion of obese children can be dramatically decreased by the commitment with the policy. On the other hand, the duty to combat obesity in children should not fall on the government alone, because children’s families have better influence on their children’s unhealthy lifestyle. For one, an obese child is often malnourished simply by the lack of their parent’s attention to their child's diet. This fact also suggests that parents can have a direct impact on improving their children’s health by choosing healthy meals which contain less sugar and fat. Beside that, the increasingly obese and unhealthy teenagers are also caused by the lack of physical activities. This can be exemplified by a sedentary lifestyle, the only ones who can tackle these problems are their parents, they can either encourage and guide their child to engage in more physical activity, such as playing football, swimming, and doing yoga. A recent survey in VietNam indicated that the children who are urged by their parents to engage in physical activities regularly have lesser potential to struggle with heart-related disease and obesity. In conclusion, it is inevitable that the government is still and will always be the main take responsibility for children’s health. Nevertheless, it seems that the government alone may not be able to tackle these problems effectively and cooperation with children’s families is essential.