Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of public health, the government should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products.

There is a differing view on the issue of whether tobacco products should be illegal or not. Some people suggest that pre- smoking groups will decrease the public's quality of life, so smoking should be banned. This essay will agree with this statement. There are two principal reasons. First of all, abolishing tobacco products is the most effective way to stop people from smoking. As smoking is harmful to the human body and leads to serious diseases. In the past, the government promoted the drawbacks of smoking through advertisements and school activities. However, it was not strong enough, so the smoker ignored the warning. The fact shows, heavy smokers will not kick the habit by themselves. If the government wishes to be consistent in pursuing their ‘ war against tobacco ’. They should take a prohibitionist approach to tobacco abuse. Secondly, it is indisputable that smokers increase the stress of public health expenditure. The fact is, smoking habits lead to lung cancer and heart diseases. The pro- smoking group must say it is their freedom and personal right to decide what goes into their body. Nevertheless, the treatment is incredibly costly, frequently the government and public cover the costs rather than individual smoker. It would be unfair for the public to bear the financial responsibility of a smoker's self- destructive choice. In conclusion, the issue is likely to become even more important in the future. The public health expenditure significantly increased. Hence, in the interest of public health, the government should abolish tobacco products.