Solar energy is becoming popular in many countries of the world because of its availability without any limit. Do the advantages of solar energy outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, our earth faces global warming hence many scientists suggest to find an alternative of fossil fuel. Many people choose solar energy because it is environment friendly. While solar cell is renewable energy, there are undeniable disadvantages to it. First, to install a solar cell, there is a requirement of a big space for the sun exposure. As population increase, availibility of the land also limited. Sometimes, it can be challenging to find an adequate space, especially in the less-spacious residential areas. For instance, in the crowded island like Java, there is no enough space for installing solar cell. Moreover, big space also means high cost since the price of the land is quite expensive. Besides, the solar cell has a high dependancy dependence on the sunlight to produce power for the electricity. It may be difficult for countries which have less sun during one year, especially non tropical countries. Eventhough technology has advanced and there is a new material, the price will be very expensive compare with the electricity that produced. For example, Switszerland country which experience extreme low temperature and less sun exposure will not applicable for installment of solar cell due to lack of sunlight. Therefore, subtropical countries need to find another renewable energy as alternative when there is no sun. Lastly, eventhough solar cell more environmental friendly than fossil fuel, it still have some weakness. In my opinion, the disadvantages of solar cell outweight its advantages, especially in term of space and weather. Furthermore, installing solar cell also requires a high cost hence it is not suitable for people with low to medium income.