Some teachers think that international student exchange would be beneficial for all teenage school students. Do you think its advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, exchange student programs are becoming more common. Some teachers believe this trend would be good for all ages of students, but others say the opposite. In my opinion, although this situation may bring some benefits, I argue they are overshadowed by the drawbacks. On the one hand, it can not be denied that studying in a new nation is a great experience for students to widen their horizons. Living in another location, students have more chances to interact with new cultures and people. Therefore, students become more open-minded and tolerant of different opinions, which is a foundation for their development in future. In addition, teenagers could be more independent when living without parents' help. However, this trend would bring pressure to both migrating teenagers and their parents. Firstly, young people have many difficulties in adapting to a new environment. They have to face a wide range of issues such as culture shock and missing home, leading to youngsters feeling stressed and isolated. Besides, parents of those exchange students must spend a huge amount of money on accommodation and education costs for their children. Consequently, it puts a pressure on family’s budgets, especially with low and middle-income families. In conclusion, swapping students between countries has both advantages and disadvantages. However, although students would have new experiences, this trend may impact negatively on their mental health and parents’ budgets.