The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Since flight has become cheaper and more modern, it is easier for people to go overseas these days. Because there are so many foreign people in a country and they need to communicate with local people, English plays an important role in it. If this pattern continues for the following years, some people think English might be the one and only language in this world. This phenomenon actually has several upsides and downsides. The first benefit of English as a single language is we have not any language barrier as a global community. People from anywhere can talk with foreigners even if they are of different nationalities without any boundaries. It shows that every person has the same status, no one language is better than others. Thus, we shouldn’t learn any new languages which make us simpler. For example, if an Indonesian goes to the UK, she mustn't take a language test because we have to talk in the same language. On the other hand, if we only have a language in this world, the divergent languages become rare and many countries will lose their characteristics. Second, the polyglot people are missing whereas it is an interesting skill. Then, any business that is related to language, such as language teachers, interpreters, or translators. For instance, in South Jakarta, there are several tutorial classes closed in recent years because some people there have had English as their main language. In conclusion, English is a key language for tourism and other aspects. But, if it acts as a single language in this world, there are some positive and also negative sides.