Some people believe that the responsibility is with the government to control the rise in obesity in children, others think the parents are the cause. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One of the social concerns today relates to the rapid increase in obesity in children. While it is widely believed that the government should be the one to offer assistance in controlling this issue, others believe that the parents are the cause of this problem. In my opinion, the authorities can help to promote educational activities for the kids. It is the parents who should guide their children to have better choices for their health. On the one hand, it is argued that national leaders should play the most important role in regulating the rate of being overweight in kids. This is because they are the ones with enough power and money to control the food supply in a country. What we put in our mouths has always played a pivotal role in affecting our health, and more specifically weight. Thus, by limiting foods with negative externalities with the use of taxes and regulations, the government can promote a healthier diet by limiting the foods kids can have access to. An example of this is Japan, where the government enacts a 50% tax on junk food, while subsequently giving subsidies to local farmers. All of this has resulted in the country having one of the lowest rates of obesity in children in the world. On the other hand, it is strongly believed by others that parents are the ones held accountable for their children's alarming weight. People often have this opinion because parents should be the ones to directly intervene in children's diets and educate them about making healthy food choices. As the one who spends the most time with the children every day, parents share an intimate relationship with their children, which allows them to develop healthy habits, something the government can never replicate. For example, research done by New York University has shown that children are more likely to listen to an adult they trust, which means mainly their parents who have the capability to help their kids improve their lifestyles. In conclusion, it is commonly thought that the national administrators hold the highest chance of making an impact regarding children ’s weight, others assume that it’s in fact parents that are the main cause for this increase in obesity in kids. Personally, I believe that governments can only do so much to educate and restrict. As part of their parental duties, parents should be the ones to lead children on the right path regarding their dietary choices.