Today food often travels thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only ate food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this idea outweigh the disadvantages?

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether to have food produced in local farms or not. In this essay I am going to examine this question from both points of view an then explain why I believe that food must be produced in local farms. Firstly, there are people who argue that the benefits of shipping food from overseas considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this, is that many fruits and vegetables need certain conditions to grow in. It is possible to say that certain kinds of vegetable need certain form of skill and a specific type of soil. To illustrate, papaya fruits and dragon fruits can not grow in European countries due to cold-moderate weather conditions. Also, these fruits need specific kind of skilled-workers to plant them. On the other hand, others believe that food should be planted locally. People have this opinion because, the prices will be lower and this will offer many job opportunities for the people. A second point is that local farms will benefit the economy because the taxes will be lower and this will lead a higher buying force for such goods. A good example on this, in Saudi Arabia, most plants and vegetables are now planted locally this has led to lower taxes on local farmers, ease of farm construction, and thus lower product prices. In conclusion, I beleive both arguments have their reasons. On balance, however, I feel that plants should be produced locally, because this will help the economy and offer many job opportunities.