In this technological personal information of all kinds is held on computer by different companies and organization in many countries. Do the advantages of this development out weigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, it has been a highly debate issue whether personal information data should be held on computers by numerous corporations in many countries. While this trend has several benefits for both private enterprises and state-owned enterprises. Personally, I am convinced that its drawbacks are far more significant. First and foremost, customers’ personal information data will allow businesses easy access to find new customers conveniently and save time. For instance, when a company is in the process of developing a new product, they will use customers’ information stored in technology devices to tap into customers’ psychology and refresh customer segments. Additionally, this is also an effective way for consumers to keep updated with the latest products and make the purchase decision. To illustrate, Apple fans usually receive emails from the manufacturer to learn more about upcoming iPhone models. On the other hand, storing personal data will cause many risky consequences for customers. When customer information is updated, it is likely to be stolen by hackers who steal information and leak sensitive information due to security issues. Moreover, personal information stored on computers can lead to loss of privacy and control over users' data, as companies and organizations can use this information improperly purpose. For illustration, there are more and more customers who have their information stolen and personal phone numbers exposed by companies selling them to illegal sales offices for profit. In conclusion, despite its benefits, providing personal data to companies poses a threat to society and every individual. Therefore, there is a need to offer more solutions to ensure data privacy.