It has been said that the world is becoming a global village in which there are no boundaries to trade and communication. Do the benefits of globalisation outweigh the drawbacks?

These days, the world is heading towards a borderless state to trade and exchange messages. Although this process can potentially threaten local candidates in the job market, I personally believe that globalisation has more merits than setbacks in terms of boosting exports and campaigning tourism. One of the most notable drawbacks from unionised nations is the rising competition in a country's job market which results in leveraging unemployment level. One of the examples is the ASEAN Economic Community which was established in 2015 and triggered controversies within the experts and workers, since it was written in the bluperint that workforce from one ASEAN country could seamlessly move and work to another region without additional requirements. Consequently, the workforce in a nation had to compete with many other candidates from various parts of the region. People who have less competencies will have no jobs in their own lands. On the contrary, blurring the boundaries between countries can bring many benefits to a nation's economy. Firstly, the ease of building partnerships among nations can potentially boost exports. For instance, Indonesia will be one of the main suppliers of nickel and footwear for the United Kingdom, due to the openness of both governments to establish bilateral agreements. Thus, expanding the target markets of many local enterprises and contributing to economic growth. Subsequently, globalisation will be very beneficial for tourism marketing purposes. With the help of social media, promoting Indonesian landscape and culture can be done effectively by posting the beauty of its beaches, mountains, waterfalls, and cultural diversity on the internet. To conclude, it is undeniable that the world is moving towards a globalised nations with less boundaries. Even though the threat of unemployment keeps haunting as a solid consequence, its advantages towards local businesses' export achievements and tourism promotion heavily outweigh the drawbacks. To tackle this issue, the local government is expected to provide safety nets for the well-being of its inhabitants and prepare them to face globalisation.