Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that educational institutions teach common subjects, such as history and math and that it is better to spend time promoting classes with subjects that involve professional practical courses. I partially agree with such a point of view, because even though it is important that schools teach trivial matters, center of learning must prepare youngsters for the future by teaching about the job market. On the one hand, it is essential that schools prepare students based on traditional subjects, because it stimulates logical and critical thought, consequently improving the education of the general population. For example, it is estimated that 40% of scholars in Latin America who graduate from traditional schools obtain high positions in the government, because of the sense of citizenship they build in history classes at school. On the other hand, schools must provide skills related to business, because it can help students to take a chance on an outstanding job opportunity when they finish their studies, therefore it will improve their chances of becoming more competitive in the job market. For instance, it is known that in the USA most graduate students find a position easily after college, due to the fact that they can develop leadership skills and are able to analyze and solve complex problems, thus students can grow professionally. To conclude, I do believe that educational institutions must teach traditional subjects to develop a critical view, in spite of the importance of teaching life skills. Ideally, not only should schools prepare students to achieve their personal goals, but also value common content as a facilitator for building education.