Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an aging population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people.

There is a debate over whether an ageing population is beneficial to society or not. I partly agree with the latter view and this essay will demonstrate that the disadvantages of this phenomenon supersede the advantages. To begin with, there are some reasons why the increase in the old generation is positive. For one thing, they have invaluable experiences and knowledge, having acquired through their real lives. In terms of education, this can be applied to the career training of young people, who are immature and experience fewer chances to build up their resume. Likewise, retired people can still play a crucial role in a society because of their values as a mentor, making a desirable relationship with the next generation. In spite of the reasons mentioned above, I reckon that the increasing number of elderly gives rise to adverse consequences. First and foremost, national productivity has diminished, aggravating the supply in the labour market. This is because the rise in ageing people denotes the decrease in the youth, who are economically active populations, leading to the economic recession. Secondly, the financial stability of social insurance, such as health care insurance, employment insurance and annuity, has been exacerbated since the number of citizens who work and pay taxes has plummeted. For this reason, the degree of insurance coverage has also abated. In a nutshell, it is clear that, although there are a few merits of an aging society, the demerits of this phenomenon related to economic and social reasons outweigh the benefits.